Columbus Arson Attorney
Ohio arson and aggravated arson charges are among the most serious offenses you can be convicted of in Ohio. If convicted, you stand to face a lengthy prison term and substantial fines, not to mention that you will now have a criminal record that can seriously hamper your future employment prospects. Secure the services of a competent criminal attorney to defend your freedom and your future. Call Attorney Adam Burke today for your free consultation at (614) 280-9122.
Ohio Arson Charges
“Arsonist” is the label given to a person who sets fire to something.
In Ohio, you can be charged with arson if, through the means of a fire or an explosion, you knowingly do any of the following:
- Cause physical harm, or create a substantial risk of physical harm, to any property without the owner’s consent.
- Cause physical harm, or create a substantial risk of physical harm, to your (the offender’s) property or another person’s property with intent to defraud.
- Cause physical harm, or create a substantial risk of physical harm, to a government-owned property, like a courthouse, police station or a school building.
- Cause physical harm, or create a substantial risk of physical harm, to a park, wildlife preserve, brush-covered area or similar areas belonging to the state or to someone else – with or without the purpose to defraud
If the property set on fire is valued at less than $1000 and is considered private property, arson is a 1st-degree misdemeanor. In all other cases, arson is treated as a felony (4th degree or 3rd degree). 1
Ohio Aggravated Arson Charges
Aggravated arson is similar to arson, except that either the property that was set on fire was occupied, or the arson caused, or created a substantial risk of physical harm to a person other than the offender.
Aggravated arson is felony of the 2nd or 1st degree. 2
Penalties for Ohio Arson and Aggravated Arson Charges
For 4th degree or 3rd degree felony arson, the penalty is 6 months to 5 years in jail, with fines of up to $10,000. For a 2nd degree or 1st degree aggravated felony arson, the penalty is 2 to10 years in prison, with fines of up to $20,000.
Burke, Meis & Associates — Columbus, Ohio Arson Lawyer
Arson is a serious offense. There are severe penalties involved, including lengthy prison time and substantial fines. It is important to understand your options and have an experienced attorney fight for your rights. Contact Attorney Adam Burke of Burke, Meis & Associates today for your free consultation (614) 280-9122.