A person may face Ohio Driving Under Suspension Charges for various reasons like not having insurance, have an outstanding warrant, not paying child support, refusing to take breath test, among other things.
Ohio Driving Under Suspension versus Expired or Revoked License
The difference between the two terms “suspended” and “expired” or “revoked” license is not obvious.
The main difference is that a suspension of drivers license is temporary; sometimes the suspended license in Ohio is for a specific time.
If you are convicted several times for violating traffic laws within a two year period your license will accumulate points. If you reach 12 points without taking a remedial driving class, your license will be suspended.
After a time period, your license may be reinstated. However, there is typically a reinstatement fee through the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
For most suspensions, the license is restored after the suspension period and the payment of the reinstatement fee, while for several other types of suspensions, it remains indefinite.
These indefinite suspensions last until a driver fulfills certain rules and regulations set by the BMV
Ohio Driving Under Suspension
Upon being stopped and charged, you may be immediately arrested. Driving with a suspended license is a misdemeanor offense and a conviction may result in up to 180 days in jail and $1,000 fine it may not be expunged from a person’s criminal record.Share