Jump to section
Columbus Concealed Carry Lawyer
Ohio felony carrying concealed weapons charges are treated as serious offenses under Ohio law. They are considered felony level offenses (or at least misdemeanors, depending on the circumstances) if you carry a weapon or a dangerous ordinance concealed about your person without a license.
The state of Ohio allows its citizens to carry concealed firearms with them, as long as they have a license to carry them. Contact Attorney Adam Burke for a free consultation to understand the charges against you at (614) 280-9122.
Ohio Carrying Concealed Weapons Law
The law states that a person should not carry or have, concealed about the person’s person or concealed and ready at hand, any given below:
- A deadly weapon which is not a handgun
- A handgun which is not a dangerous ordinance
- A dangerous ordinance.
Even if you happen to have a license to carry the weapon, you must declare your weapon if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer. You must also follow certain procedures at such times or you may be charged with a felony level offense.
Penalties for Carrying Concealed Weapons
As a misdemeanor, you face up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine. For a 5th degree felony, you may have to spend 6 to 12 months in prison, and pay up to $2,500 in fines. For a 4th degree felony, you may have to spend 6 to 18 months in prison and pay up to $5,000 in fines. For a 3rd degree felony, you will have to spend 1 to 5 years in prison, and pay up to $10,000 in fines.
The state may also impose additional penalties, like a separate $500 fine in some cases, and your license, if any, may be suspended. 1
Burke, Meis & Associates — Columbus, OH Concealed Carry Attorney
If you have been arrested for violating concealed carry laws in Ohio, contact Attorney Adam Burke to discuss the facts of your case and come up with a defense strategy. Contact Burke, Meis & Associates for your free consultation at (614) 280-9122.